IIG News

The 2022 Annual Past Presidents Luncheon

It was a beautiful spring day on Tuesday, the 20th of September when the Insurance Institute of Gauteng hosted the annual Past Presidents Luncheon at Jackal Creek Golf Club. The exclusive balcony overlooking the golf course was suitable for this celebratory event. This year we had a total of 12 past presidents in attendance, whose years of presidency spreads from 1982-2021. A full 39 years of extraordinary past leadership filled with hard work, planning, and emotions. With our president, Thabo Twalo, welcoming our guests with a beautiful speech and giving an update on what the IIG has accomplished over the past 9 months, the president had the opportunity to share #YourIIG success stories, progress, challenges and strategic thinking, theme and objectives. Darryl Grater, Past President welcomed Tshepiso Chocho, Immediate Past President to the Past President’s ‘Club’ and Simphiwe Mtyali, Deputy President did a toast as the IIG turned 111 years old! This luncheon is always filled with a feeling of a family get-together, a feeling of appreciation. A few words of wisdom and encouragement was shared by some of the past presidents, Roy Kirby (1986), Carryn Ford (2003), Kim Gallus (2012) and Michael Dash (2013) just to name a few. A heartfelt thank you to all past leaders for paving the way and contributing to a successful journey and constant support.


Article written by: Salome Van Der Mooren